Officially Brain MD

No longer a “wannabe”

Finally! After 4 years of hard work, I am officially a neurologist. The nervous system has fascinated me since early medical school and I am greatly honored to be taking care of its health.

I would just like to thank my family for supporting me in my journey here in the US. When I told them that I wanted to take the USMLE, leave the Philippines and go to the US for training, I never heard any words of doubt from them. The exams required a lot of money, but my parents never complained and all they showed was true love. They were encouraging all the way which motivated me to get good scores.

I would like to thank my wife’s family, both in the Philippines and in the US. My supposed “family” here in the US abandoned me, and my wife’s family took me in. They fed me and gave me shelter in a country that is difficult (and expensive) to be an immigrant in. They embraced me as one of their own even if at that time, I was not yet married to my wife. I will forever be indebted to them.

My resident batchmates. You guys are crazy, but a lot of fun. The 4 years we endured together will be unforgettable. A lot of memories and a lot of jokes were created, I will miss you all terribly.

The Upstate Neurology faculty. Their passion for teaching and sharing their knowledge is what made me the neurologist I am today.

To all the people that helped me along the way. To those who gave me shelter, to those who gave me rides, to those who gave me advice. You are all God’s little gifts to me in this journey.

Of course, my wife, who was beside me throughout this journey. From medical school, to board reviews, to USMLE reviews, and through residency. We stood strong against all the challenges and I hope and pray that we continue to stand strong against all future challenges.

Last but not the least, thank you God, for all the blessing you have given us. Everything is according to Your will and I will continue to serve Your people and do my work as an offering to You.

In the next few days, I will be entering Vascular Neurology aka Stroke fellowship. I will be focusing more on the brain and its blood vessels. But first, BOARD EXAMS!

Leave a comment