Neurology Board Exam

September 21, 2020. The culmination of 4 years of education into one exam consisting of 400 questions to be finished in 7 hours.

To be honest, it was difficult to study for this exam. There is a LOT of information in Neurology, and most of them are a “need to memorize” kind of knowledge instead of “need to process” kind (which I prefer).

I think the most difficult parts for me to study are the clinical pictures of Neuromuscular and Child Neurology. It is so easy to get lost in patients who are all developmentally delayed, or has hypotonia, or has proximal muscle weakness, or has feeding difficulties. Then you have to remember the enzyme missing, or the gene mutated, or what chromosome is the gene located. Then you have to remember the mode of inheritance. Then you have to remember the diagnostic process, and of course, the treatment. By the time you do the questions, all the details of all the diseases are mixed up in your head like the houses and animals that got caught inside a tornado.

Anyway, overall, I think it was a fair exam. I got out feeling great, unlike RITE exams wherein I feel stupid afterwards. LOL

Everything is up to God now. He knows I worked really hard for this. 😁

Leave a comment