Future Plans

Been a long time since I posted. I actually forgot that I had a blog. A few days ago, a colleague of mine (who recently passed the PLE, congratulations!) messaged me that he has been reading my blog all along. I rediscovered the purpose of this blog, so here I am, writing again.

I am currently in my PGY-3 (R2) year of Neurology. I am in the process of applying for Vascular Neurology. I really enjoy stroke, the neuroanatomy of it, the acuity and the rush of a stroke code, and the ability to see your patients improve (well, some of them) from a highly morbid condition.

After Vascular Neurology, I might take up Interventional Neurology. Unfortunately, my visa status limits my ability (and my chances, which is already low to begin with) in finding a good training program.

I might try and find a job first, get a permanent residency, and then enter into fellowship again (groan). I discussed this with my mentor and he is very supportive of my plans. He also intends to tailor my fellowship program so that I maximize my diagnostic angiogram skills. This (along with the fact that my wife got a job in Binghamton, yey) is the reason I will probably stay in Syracuse.

Pray for us!

 

3 thoughts on “Future Plans

  1. I’m so glad I found your blog. I just graduated from medical school this year from the Philippines and I have both US and Filipino passports. However, my main concern is that I may not be good enough academically for the USMLE and may not match after all the time, effort, and money spent. The last time I was a top-performing student was in high school, and though I went to a top boards-performing medical school, I did not top medical school. I’m just wondering if I actually stand a chance of matching in a residency program in the US.

Leave a comment