“The Answer to Vice is Virtue”

#Rapeculture is once again the topic of many of my Facebook friends. For some reason, some of them cannot fathom more than 1 idea at a time. It is always “instead of teaching women how to dress, teach men not to rape”. While I agree that victim blaming is wrong, I think there is wisdom in dressing decently. So why not both?

This “teach men not to rape” is such a weird notion though. I never recalled my father telling me “son, don’t rape people”. Instead, he reminded me to always respect women and be a gentleman.

Unfortunately, being a “gentleman” would assume differences in sex roles. We assume that men should protect women. However, in a society that continuously tries to blur sex differences, this task becomes increasingly challenging.

Maybe we should bring back the idea that men should protect women. Maybe we should bring back the idea that sex is not just a transaction between two people, but rather something deeper, more emotional, and should only be done with your spouse.

Maybe then rape would no longer be a thing.